Dec 07

Woodbridge XC

Wet and muddy at Woodbridge in the Suffolk Cross Country League today. Well done to Bethany, Jake and Gary who competed – great running! Results to follow. Sorry we missed you Gary for the team photo! It would be great to see a few more TAC athletes taking part (age 11 plus) as this is a club event. Next one at Haverhill on 19th December.

Nov 23

Fenland 10

On what was possibly the wettest and windiest day in October, three Thetford runners lined up for the Fenland 10. Ten miles around a fast flat but wind exposed course Simon Smith was first back for TAC in 1:05:39 for 16th place overall and 3rd in his age group. Gary Malliband was soon to follow in 1:10:54 for 38th place and also 3rd in age group. Steve Dickens completed the trio in a time of 1:28:18 and 24th in age group.

Oct 18

Middle Distance Duathlon Win

Simon Smith was winner of the Cowman Middle Distance Duathlon 2021 at the weekend. Conditions were cool but dry and in a distance race that was new to him (13.1 mile run, 50 mile bike, 6.2 mile run) Simon triumphed to 1st place with a time of 4:32:18

Oct 08

Outlaw X Middle Distance Triathlon

Simon and Charlotte Smith travelled to the picturesque location of Thoresby Hall near Retford Notts for the 2021 Outlaw X Middle Distance Triathlon. The race consisted of a 1900m lake swim followed by 56 miles on the bike and a 13.1 mile run through woodland around the Thoresby estate. Simon finished in an impressive 4:47:14 for 6th in his age group while Charlotte completed the course in 5:12:12 for 1st place in her age group.

Sep 28

Thompson 5 and 10k

Members of Thetford Athletics Club took part in the local Thompson 5 and 10k run at the weekend. Kevin Vaughan was first home for Thetford in the 5k, he finished 1st overall in a time of 20:47. Liz Bevington had her first race as a TAC member and completed the off-road 5k course in 39:17 for 2nd in her age group. Peter Elliot and Paul Rayner tackled the 10k, Peter finished in 50:43 for 6th in his age group with Paul completing the course in 53:44 for 4th place in his age group.


Sep 10

Boxend Triathlon Weekend

Simon Smith, Gary Malliband and Karl Wright were all in triathlon action at the weekend. Simon was first up on Saturday competing at the Boxend Sprint National Championship Triathlon, competing in distances of 750m swim, 12.5 mile bike and 3.2 mile off road run Simon powered home in a time of 1:09:40 for 6th place in his age group. Gary and Karl were up next on the Sunday taking part in the Standard distance European Qualifier Triathlon covering distances of 1500m swim, 28 mile bike and 6.2 mile off road run. Gary clocked a finish time of 2:42:02 for 9th place in his age group with Karl following in 2:48:38 and 24th in his age group.

Sep 05

Eton Dorney Triathlon

Gary Malliband travelled to Eton Dorney lakes (venue of the 2012 Olympic rowing events) to take part in the Standard Distance Triathlon. In a mass start (the first in a long time) Gary took on the 1500m swim in the 19 degree water followed by 8 loops of a fast flat 25 mile bike course followed by a similar 6.2 mile run. The weather was a little chilly to start but with light winds turned out to be the perfect temperature for Gary to clock a finishing time of 2:15:07 to take 3rd place in his age group.

Aug 09

Culford Triathlon

Thetford AC triathletes were met with some cool and breezy conditions at the local Culford Sprint Triathlon at the weekend. The pool based triathlon consisted of a 300m swim, 12 mile bike and 2.4 mile run all based at Culford School. There were course pb’s for Gary Malliband, Karl Wright, Lukasz Rysinski and Richard Crewe. Gary finished in 58:40 for 2nd in his age group with Karl closely behind in 59:30 for 5th in his age group. Lukasz 1:01:00 (2nd in age group) and Richard 1:04:48 (7th in age group). Also competing for Thetford were newcomer Sara Santillo who achieved a time of 1:15:57 and 2nd place in the female 40-44 category and Brian Wright who is a regular to this event in 1:23:04 for 3rd in the 65-69 age category.

Aug 05

Norfolk County Championships

Norfolk County Track and Field Championships 2021 – Day 1

Several of Thetford AC’s junior athletes took part in day 1 of this year’s Norfolk County Championships, held at the UEA. There were lots of medals won with great performances from all.

In the U15 age group Alicia Mae Howard achieved pb’s all round, taking home the bronze medal after finishing 3rd in the shot (8.21m) and then 5th place in the javelin (22.45m).

Tom Norkett won the bronze medal, finishing 3rd in the discus with a pb throw of 20.92m.

Racing in the 800m, Jake Dorbin finished just outside the medals in 4th place with a time of 2:13.2.

In the U20 age group Asha Soanes made it a treble of medals, finishing 3rd in the long jump with a jump of 4.88m, 2nd in the shot (9.18m) and then taking the gold medal in the Javelin (30.95m) to become County Champion.

Jessica Norkett then successfully became 800m County Champion, winning with a new pb of 2:14.5.

It was a great day with TAC hoping to continue the success on day 2 of the Championships at the end of August.

Aug 03

East Anglian League Report

East Anglian League Action

There was finally league action for Thetford Athletics Club juniors, with the East Anglian League being held for the first time at Great Yarmouth following the easing of Covid restrictions.

In the U11 age group Poppy Findlay ran the 80m, coming first in her heat in 13.1 seconds with Lyla Pitchford clocking 13.3 seconds to finish 3rd. Lyla also jumped 3.13m in the long jump, finishing in 7th place.


The U13 age group saw Olivia Pitchford finish 4th in the 100m in 15.5 seconds and 4th in the long jump with a leap of 3.58m.

Making her East Anglian League debut, Rosie Jackson finished 4th in the 200m with a time of 33.3 seconds. She then came home in 3rd place in the 800m with a great time of 2:43.9.


Bethany Wilson, the sole Thetford AC U15 girl came 2nd in the 1500m with a new pb of 5:13.1. The under 15 boys saw Alfie Findlay come 1st in the 800m B string (2:33.5) with Jake Dorbin finishing in 3rd place in the A string setting a new PB of 2:12.7.

Thomas Norkett finished in 3rd place in the discus with a pb throw of 18.06m and then followed this up with a 1st place in the Hammer (22.18m).


In the Senior Women’s age group, Jess Norkett ran the 400m for the first time, finishing in 1st place in a time of 59.7 seconds. She then set a new pb in the 200m, finishing in 1st place with a time of 27.8 seconds.

Asha Soanes jumped 4.84m in the long jump to finish in 3rd place. She also finished 2nd in the shot with a throw of 8.22m and then threw the javelin 29.58m to take 1st place.

Floyd Scott was the only senior male athlete and finished in 2nd place in the 100m (12.6) and 3rd in the 200m with a time of 25.8 seconds.

Older posts «